RSS

Busilak na Puso

09 Jan

Last July, when I went home to the Philippines, I was trying to surprise at least one person: Karol, my college friend and chorale-mate (she had no facebook back then so she was not able to read my announcements).

When people from Chorale asked if Karol knew, I would tell them online, “Huwag nyo sabihin kay Karol kasi surprise sana ‘yun.”
When I arrived in Cavite, I immediately went to church that weekend. Heck! I didn’t plan it well because she was there.
“Anong ginagawa mo dito!?” she was shocked at my unannounced arrival.
“Surprise sana kita pero nandito ka pala. Pupuntahan kasi sana kita sa school,” I answered. Surprise: spoiled.
“Nakakaasar ka! Di ka nagsasabi!” She screamed but she was excited.
“Basta text na lang kita ha?”
“Sige.”

Unfortunately for me, I wasn’t able to get her number so when it was time to visit her in DLSU-Dasmarinas, she teaches English Literature there, I took my chances whether she was there or not. Sana nandun sya.
Well, luck didn’t go in my favor as she was not there. I was able to see some of our friends though: Ms. Joy Parohinog, our former CAO (Cultural Arts Office) coordinator, and the 15th batch of the DLSU-D Chorale (I belonged to Batch 4 so you could just imagine how ‘old’ I felt).
Ms. Joy told me, “Naku nasa kabilang school sya ngayon nagtuturo. Rogationist school. T-Th s’ya dun.”
“Oo nga pala,” I suddenly remembered, “Dun nga pala s’ya pag Huwebes.”
I was due to fly out the next weekend so that was the last chance to see her.

In the Airport Gate before my flight, I was trying to consume off my Philippine mobile load by calling and texting people that I’ll be leave behind. While browsing thru the names in my contact details, I saw Karol’s number. It was there all this time! I called her, “Karol?”
“Orlee?”
“Sorry-sorry! Aalis na ako ngayon.”
“Ha?!”
“Nasa airport na ako.”
“Ah ganun?”
“Sorry talaga.”
“Sige ok lang.”
“Bawi ako next time.
“Sige.”
We left it at that. But I know Karol too much and I know she was crossed.

I kept it low for the next few months: No message. She finally signed up for facebook but it took months before she added me. Ethel, our friend, told me, “Galit pa rin s’ya sa’yo, Orlee.”
“Kelan kaya ako mag-so-sorry?”
“Try mo sa Pasko.”

December 24-
Karol: Hello?
Orlee: Sorry na. Patawarin mo na ako.
Karol: Who’s this?
Orlee: Si Orlee. Merry Christmas…
Karol: Hay naku! Oh bakit ka tumawag!?
Orlee: Babati lang ng Merry Christmas at alam ko naman wala akong magiging valid na kahit anong explanation kaya di na lang ako mag-e-explain.”
Karol: Buti alam mo!
Orlee: Merry Christmas. Patawarin na sana ako ng busilak mong puso.
Karol: Oo! Busilak talaga ang puso ko. Leche!

She then explained some scenarios that would eventually added to her anger for a no-show Orlee.

Ms. Joy: Oy! Dumaan si Orlee! Nagkita kayo?
Karol: Hindi!
Ms. Joy: Kakamustahin ka sana eh.
Karol: Huwag ka nang magsalita pa Mam Joy.

Ferson (a chorale-mate): Hey! Susurpresahin ka raw ni Orlee, eh. Kamusta ‘yun?
Karol: Huwag na nating pag-usapan please!

Coralyn (Chorale-mate): Umuwi raw si Orlee? Super close kayo nun ‘di ba? Ano pasalubong sa’yo?
Karol: Wala!

Karol: Ate! Sino nag-add kay Orlee sa Facebook ko!?
Emerald (her sister): Ako. Nakita ko kasi naka pending eh. In-add ko na.
Karol: Pakialamera ka talaga! Di ko nga in-a-accept eh!
Emerald: Si Orlee ‘yun ‘di ba?
Karol: Pakialamera!

After we laughed about her supposed snob, Karol indeed had a pure heart for forgiving me. I didn’t promise a “Next time I go home,” because I knew she won’t buy it anymore.
Karol: Bahala ka sa buhay mo!
Orlee: I miss you.
Karol: Ewan!
Orlee: Merry Christmas.
Karol: Merry Christmas din.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 9, 2010 in OFW (ok fine whatever), Tropapeeps

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Busilak na Puso

  1. tintupe

    April 25, 2012 at 6:49 AM

    rotfl! That’s too funny!

     

Leave a comment