RSS

Daily Archives: July 22, 2009

Dog Food

08072009396When Nanay used to sell lutong ulam in our backlot, one neighbor asked her, “Isang order nga ho. Walang makain aso ko eh.”
Hurt by the neighbor’s words, she puts hard work on preparing each meal she said, “Masarap kaya ang luto ko, sa ASO n’yo lang ipapakain?”
The neighbor taken aback by his own comments, answered, “Ay hindi po, masarap nga po. Sa amin po yung tira ng aso namin.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 22, 2009 in It's All Relative

 

Tags:

Whitewater Rafting with PGMA

cagayan_de_oro_raftingSince the most famous spokesperson for the Cagayan River Whitewater Rafting is none other than the President of the Philippines, I can’t help wonder how did she enjoyed the adventure herself.
I asked my guide, “Pare, ikaw ba nag-assist kay Gloria nung ginawa n’ya to?”
“Yes, sir,” he answered.
“Nag-enjoy ba s’ya? Anong sabi n’ya?” I asked. It’s nice to know that our same guide assisted GMA herself.
“Ang sabi n’ya lang, ‘Ang saya-saya no?'” the guide answered, imitating GMA’s voice. I should have seen that coming.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 22, 2009 in Journeyman

 

Tags: ,

Whitewater Rafting with J

J, Ronald’s then wife, is on the brighter side of the Kikay Spectrum. She is very particular on different activities. Kapag ayaw n’ya, ayaw n’ya.

So when she joined us on the White Water Rafting done in Cagayan River 2 days ago, we were amazed about how well-informed she is during the rafting itself. When the guide screamed, “Paddle forward!” she would reiterate and tell us, “Oh forward!” and eagerly does it.
So I commented, “Wow! Halatang nakinig talaga sa orientation.” She listened to the orientation while X, Ronald and I were attentive on the minimal level. Inuna ang picture-an.
“Yes!” she answered, “Kapag meron kasi akong narinig na ‘di maganda, talagang iiwanan ko kayo.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 22, 2009 in Dubai Friends, Journeyman

 

Tags:

Goodbye, Suitcase

Ate Pam’s flight for Japan is today.

I caught nanay and ate Pam packing downstairs. They were shoving all her things in a small suitcase. Ate Pam asked me, “Boy, pahiram muna nung suitcase mo? Di kasya sa akin eh.”
“Eh kailangan ko ‘yun eh,” I refused.
“Kung may pambili lang ate mo, ‘di s’ya magiging kawawa sa maleta n’ya,” nanay sniffed. She was crying.
They were really pleading but I refused. After a few more begging I cave in. Me and my pure heart.
“Andaya n’yo! Iniiyakan n’yo ako agad. Sige na nga! Sa’yo na!” I surrendered.
“Ang bait mo talaga,” they both told me.
“Nay, wala na akong pasalubong sa susunod kong uwi ha?” I asked nanay.
“Perahin mo na lang.”

 
 

Tags: ,